TINTED MOISTURIZER | Shiseido Waso Color Smart SPF 30

One thing to PLEASE NOTE: tinted SPF are usually not as effective as regular sunblock. 1) because people don’t apply liberally to avoid looking cakey and 2) the UV filters are often not as strong to make the formula easier to blend. Case and point: based on just Octinoxate and Titanium Dioxide there is minimal UVA coverage. I’d definitely use an SPF underneath as long as it’s not too heavy or oily feeling.

Kind of a long ingredients list – per ush Shiseido products are fragranced. This has a pleasant floral fragrance

As you can see, when you first start blending it looks a bit orange. The after looks ok on camera but I see an orange tint in real life o_O

The texture is pretty lightweight, I enjoy it

Straight out of the tube

I found this product thru Susan Yara from Mixed Makeup on Youtube. Her skin tone is a bit darker so I think the color suits her better. This tinted moisturizer definitely helps a bit with pores and redness. I am not sure I want to keep it due to the orange tint… but I like the color correcting effect. Might be nice for light makeup days (tbh before shelter in place, I went thru a long period of not wearing any make up to work due to laziness).

Price: $38 for 1.9 oz / 50 ml – I noticed Shiseido always write 1.9 or 2 oz even though 50ml should be 1.7 oz. I got it on sale at Sephora for $29 (still kinda pricy if you think about it). Get it on Amazon

This is the first Waso product I tried from Shiseido. From their regular line, I used to have the blue shaky waterproof SPF (photo below) and recall it being a bit oily for face, but it seems they reformulate their SPF every now and then. The Urban SPF 42 (white shaky bottle, photo below) is very popular at Sephora but it always seemed too expensive to me for a small bottle (1 oz). After having a bad experience with the tinted sports SPF (review here), I hesitate with tinted SPF now. But it seems like brands under the Shiseido umbrella available in Japan have a more sophisticated SPF formula, like the Elixir line (review here and here) which is also expensive.

Shiseido - Ultimate Sun Protector Lotion SPF 50+ Sunscreen
Shiseido - Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum Face Sunscreen SPF 42

One thought on “TINTED MOISTURIZER | Shiseido Waso Color Smart SPF 30

Leave a comment