CLEANSING BALM | Clinique Take the Day Off

Deluxe size 100 pts from Sephora
Not amazing with waterproof makeup (eyeliner, liquid lip, mascara)

Ingredients: Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol.

^ I really like how the ingredients list is short. BUT, compared to other cleansing balms I’ve used, I find this balm doesn’t melt that easily (I had to break apart small blocks of balm that slips between the fingers). In the last photo, I massaged my hand for a while to remove the waterproof makeup and it isn’t completely gone, so I’d say the makeup removing abilities are mediocre. This is a few dollars cheaper than some other cleansing balms sold at Sephora (e.g. Farmacy)

The main reason I don’t buy a lot of cleansing balms is bc they have the ingredient polyethylene – this is a form of microplastic. Even though it’s not in a solid, bead form like scrubs were years ago, it may not be good for the environment. In theory, if this liquid plastic washes down the drain, it potentially can be ingested by ocean life, and it potentially can reach the human body through ingestion of seafood. This isn’t super commonly known and may not be 100% true, but plastic flowing into the ecosystem… Never sounds good

Price: $30 for 3.8 oz / 125 ml – not carry on friendly, one of the few balms I’ve seen that’s over 100g. One of my close friends loves this and I am slowly swaying her away to different cleansing balms. I personally still prefer cleansing oils which feel more emollient on the skin. Balms always make me feel like there’s too much friction while I’m massaging my face even if I add more product, does anyone else feel the same way??

Get it on Amazon

Alternative Cleansing Balms:

  1. Then I Met You cleansing balm – my friend gave me this for Christmas, I was really happy! The ingredients are great
  2. Inkey List Oat cleansing balm ($10) – I read that this separates after a while and it’s in a tube so you might have trouble mixing it back together, but for $10 you can’t go wrong
  3. Burt’s Bees cleansing balm ($15) – I have been eyeing this but I kept buying other stuff oops. My friend got this, the ingredients are also great

Leave a comment