CLEANSING BALM | Shu Uemura ultime8

Lots of oils here. I notice my favorite pink cleansing oil from Shu is also ethylhexyl palmitate based, I guess it gives a lighter texture?
Interesting instructions, I have been using this every other day (that I can remember)
The tiny spatula is so small, I never use it bc I know it will get lost in the bathroom
Amount I use for my face usually (size of my thumnail)
I might’ve applied too much oops

It does a pretty good job of removing waterproof makeup. The Maybelline liquid lip is pretty hard to remove usually. There is a mild fragrance that’s not too strong. The best part about this cleansing balm is it melts super easily in your hand, and emulsifies well to rinse clean.

I tried the Clinique cleansing balm in a deluxe sample from Sephora previously, and was not a fan. The balm doesn’t turn into oil that easily, I had tiny little blocks of balm between my fingers and had to work to try to melt them. I’ve also tried the Omorovizca thermal balm (post here, this one is ridiculously overpriced) and 3CE cleansing balm, both of which dont emulsify much. I know friends who prefer cleansing balms for travel, but I haven’t had an issue with my cleansing oil travel containers.

Price: $69 for 3.5 oz / 100 g (travel safe). Most cleansing balms I’ve seen are around 3 to 3.3 oz, unless you get the jumbo size. Admittedly this price is a very high, I think a 3 oz cleansing balm is equal ish to a 5 oz cleansing oil, for which I usually pay $20-30 (on sale prices of course). I got the Shu Uemura ultime8 on sale for less than $40 I think. This is definitely the best quality cleansing balm I’ve tried so far (out of 4), but I wouldn’t buy it again unless I saw a steep discount. I’ve still yet to try the ultime8 cleansing OIL (the priciest of the Shu cleansing oil collection), although I did get a deluxe sample recently. Shu’s cleansing oils are my favorite out of other brands I’ve tried so far (see my posts here), I actually just purchased 2 new ones! (the lavender bottle and a new yellow bottle). If we’re talking cleansing balms, I also have my eye on the Then I Met You cleansing balm (also kinda pricy at $38) and the Burt’s Bees cleansing balm ($15, kind of a steal if it works well).

Leave a comment